Book: Carry On

Title: Carry On

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Blurb:

Simon Snow is the worst chosen one who’s ever been chosen.

That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.

Half the time, Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he sets something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here—it’s their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.

Carry On is a ghost story, a love story, a mystery and a melodrama. It has just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story—but far, far more monsters.

My Opinion:

Well….where to start? There is just so much I have to say about this book…but can I do that without spoilers???? [Challenge accepted!]

I love Rainbow Rowell’s writing…can’t help it! I related too well to Fangirl. So when I picked this book, I thought I knew what I was getting into. Done with the book, and going through it in my head for a while, I can say this confidently- I had no idea what I was getting into.

There is point of view switches mid-chapter and chapters that only have a couple lines to them. Although, I don’t know if they can be called chapters since occasionally, two points of view can indicate switching chapters. But enough about the technicalities.

The story! Oh gosh, where to start? From beginning to the end, you’re left turning pages wondering what will happen next and wondering if half the things you’re reading are actually connected in any way at all.

The tale does bring a beautiful conclusion to the Simon Snow’s story. All the loose ends are tied up and the characters get the endings they deserve. Everything falls into the box nicely with a ribbon placed on top. You’ll fall in love with the characters over the few short pages and end up rooting for more than one.

A well-written book, my favourite part was the lack of obvious stereotypes. The girls were not to brainy or too ‘girly’ so to speak and the boys- were like boys. Often attempting to appear tough but having emotions that exploded once in a while. The simple, yet realistically complicated characters made this book a definite read.

Don’t take my word for it, though, read it yourself and find out.

Ideal For:

A rainy day, a sunny day, a day where the work if overflowing, a day where there is no work (does that exist?) this book can be read any time, any place. But a word of caution; don’t think you can put this book down once you’ve started it.

This book has multiple genres, romance, adventure, a little bit of thriller- and the ghosts just floating around the place add a genre I’m not sure can be classified. So pick up this book if you want a tale of mixed emotions.

Some themes in the book aren’t appropriate for the younger readers so I’d suggest those above 15 read this book. Then again, it entirely depends on how you take it after all, how many times have we pressed the ‘I’m xx age’ button on websites to read what we wanted?

Rating: Rating heartsRating heartsRating heartsRating heartsRating hearts

Amazon | Flipkart | Crossword

~As always, comment below to tell me what you think and whether or not you’ll read it…or have read it–

140

(gif from www.heathersanimations.com)

 

Leave a Reply

