Book: Mrs Funnybones

TitleFeatured image: Mrs. FunnyBones

Author: Twinkle Khanna

Blurb:

Good morning, it’s 6 a.m. and I am wide awake because the man of the house has decided that he needs to perform a series of complex manoeuvres that involve him balancing on his left elbow. When I fell asleep last night, there was a baby lying next to me. Her smelly diaper is still wedged on my head but aside from this rather damp clue, I can’t seem to find her anywhere. I could ask my mother-in-law if she has seen the baby, but she may just tell me that I need to fast on alternate Mondays, and God will deliver the baby back to me . . . Full of wit and delicious observations, Mrs Funnybones captures the life of the modern Indian woman—a woman who organizes dinner each evening, even as she goes to work all day, who runs her own life but has to listen to her Mummyji, who worries about her weight and the state of the country. Based on Twinkle Khanna’s super-hit column, Mrs Funnybones marks the debut of one of our funniest, most original voices.

My Opinions:

It might be the story of modern Indian housewives, but man! It can entertain all ages. I was curious picking this book up considering I liked her columns, I figured it would be worth the gamble. So glad I did!

In terms of style, the book often uses colloquial terms and grammar, but considering a huge chunk of this book consists of dialogues, I could hardly take points off for that. That aside, this is not a story. It’s more of a collection of journal entries, or like a bunch of Tumblr conversations posts made into a book. I would refer to blogs, but blogs very often tend to be content oriented rather than focusing on the time, date and ‘who is speaking’ aspect that Tumblr has.

Each chapter, as the divisions can be called ends with either a reflection of the days’ events or a small note to self (and the readers) as to how to deal with something or what to expect when _____(the blank can have almost anything!). Some might be sound advice, but most of them simply lead to more laughter.

Ideal For:

So, I picked this book up in the middle of last week because assignments had me so bogged down, that I just couldn’t think anymore. And it helped. This book was the perfect way to relax as I was winding down for the day, or just taking a break from the giant pile of unfinished work happily drowning my desk.

The best part about it was, each chapter was a new beginning. This meant that I never felt guilty about abandoning the book midway when the panic of dawning deadlines got to my head (which is what happened with Carry On, by the way. Ended up staring at the book instead of working -.-” expect a review on that next :P)

I suppose there is an age limit to this book, but it hardly has anything to do with content. It has more to do with the ability to understand the jokes. Most of the book remains well within the PG-PG-13 boundaries and I suppose that the genre is non-fiction humour…along with a little but of everyday adventures.

Rating: Rating heartsRating heartsRating heartsRating hearts

Amazon | Crossword | Flipkart |

–As always, comment below to tell me what you think and whether or not you’ll read it…or have read it–

140

(gif from www.heathersanimations.com)

Leave a Reply

