Book: The Bees

TFeatured imageitle: The Bees

Author: Laline Paull

Blurb:

Born into the lowest class of her society, Flora 717 is a sanitation bee, only fit to clean her orchard hive. Living to accept, obey and serve, she is prepared to sacrifice everything for her beloved holy mother, the Queen. Yet Flora has talents that are not typical of her kin. And while mutant bees are usually instantly destroyed, Flora is reassigned to feed the newborns, before becoming a forager, collecting pollen on the wing. Then she finds her way into the Queen’s inner sanctum, where she discovers secrets both sublime and ominous. Enemies roam everywhere, from the fearsome fertility police to the high priestesses who jealously guard the Hive Mind. But Flora cannot help but break the most sacred law of all, and her instinct to serve is overshadowed by a desire, as overwhelming as it is forbidden…

My Opinion:

Bees! That’s what the entire book was about…the world from the point of view of a single bee. It was…not what I was expecting it to be.

When I started reading the book, I was bored and slightly lost. I was confused as to what was going on in the book and just trying to wrap my head around the very fact that you had honeycomb walls. It’s not the cutesy thing you see in The Bee Movie either. If you look at it like that, The Bee Movie is the ideal/romantic take on the world, sure it has a bad part, but overall, it shows only the good part of the hive. This book is like the book that’s banned because it shows the truth about society.

Class order here is of utmost importance and you simply cannot break it. Once I started getting a grip of what was going on, this book took on a different take altogether. What had me originally going to sleep now had me late for dinner because I. JUST. COULDN’T. STOP.

Overall, it is a book that I’m glad I took a risk in reading. It was not the best book to have read, but I found myself actually enjoying what I was reading so I don’t have that negative a view of it. It isn’t something I would recommend for everyone, though.

Ideal For:

This book is most definitely not for those looking for an easy read. Or for those that are burdened by a pile of work. This book requires you to read it at a stretch lest you lose the flow in which case you are doomed (doomed I tell you! doomed!) It also requires that you think so don’t go for it when you’re looking to unwind (for that I would suggest something like You Don’t Know Me or even Heaven Scent for those non-girly ones of you, Peril at End Point Works that way too). To get this through this book, first of all, be at least 14…or 15. Then, get snuggled up in your blanket, or settled in your comfy chair, keep tea or coffee and biscuits ready take a deep breath, then dive into this book.

Rating: 3.2

Amazon | Flipkart 

–As always, comment below to tell me what you think and whether or not you’ll read it…or have read it–

140

(gif from www.heathersanimations.com)

Leave a Reply

