Book: This Song Will Save Your Life

Featured imageBook: This Song Will Save Your Life

Author: Leila Sales

Blurb:

Making friends has never been Elise Dembowski’s strong suit. All throughout her life, she’s been the butt of every joke and the outsider in every conversation. When a final attempt at popularity fails, Elise nearly gives up. Then she stumbles upon a warehouse party where she meets Vicky, a girl in a band who accepts her; Char, a cute, yet mysterious disc jockey; Pippa, a carefree spirit from England; and most importantly, a love for DJing.

Told in a refreshingly genuine and laugh-out-loud funny voice, This Song Will Save Your Life is an exuberant novel about identity, friendship, and the power of music to bring people together.

My Opinion: 

I got this on a Saturday evening and finished it that night itself that’s how gripping it is. The way the story is written is extremely gripping, it’s a book I didn’t want to put down. I’m not as much a loner as Elise is, but I was able to understand her through this book. The fact that there is an index in the back for all the songs used in the book makes it that much better.

Elise changes in the book and I don’t mean that she finds her ‘place’ in the world. She grows and she learns. She learns from her mistakes- she learns why her mistakes were mistakes in the first place- and, most importantly, she learns how to let change happen. I find that it is easy to relate to this. Who either as a teenager, or maybe even older, has not gone through these struggles. Trying to find who you are and to find your talent, or even your place in this world is something everybody struggles with. It is this very thing that helped me connect with Elise.

Like Elise, I am trying and experimenting…to see who I am and to find what is my passion. The very fact that Elise struggles to find the one thing that- not only peaks her interest- but that she is willing to find time doing is what drew me in. I am searching for my passion, I am trying to see if that is who I really am and I am trying to find myself. So who knows, maybe that’s why I rated this book so high, because I can relate to the main character so well.

Ideal For:

This book is full of angst at best, that doesn’t mean that it is heavy reading though. It’s not meant for those who are under the age of say…15 or so. It is a book that you can read in one go (like I did). It’s a good book to read maybe during the day if books like these leave you feeling motivated and productive. I, however, found it’s a good book to read at night, a while before I go to sleep. The questions the book caused me to ask myself made for excellent thoughts to have right before you fall asleep.

Rating: 4.6

Amazon | CrossWord | Flipkart | Barnes and Nobles |

–As always, comment below to tell me what you think and whether or not you’ll read it…or have read it–

140

(gif from www.heathersanimations.com)

Leave a Reply

